In this guide
What is olive leaf extract?
Olive leaf extract is made from leaves of Olea europaea. Labels may state total extract, oleuropein, hydroxytyrosol or a ratio to raw leaf. Those units describe different things. Olive oil, olive fruit polyphenols and leaf extract cannot be treated as interchangeable exposures.
Human trials address narrow questions in specific populations. They do not establish olive leaf extract as a replacement for antihypertensive or diabetes medication, hormone therapy, exercise or infection treatment.
Typical Olive Leaf Extract Protocols
| Source and context | Material | Amount | Frequency | Duration | Observed result |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lamti 2025 · 621 people treated for hypertension | Oral olive leaf extract; composition absent from abstract | Amount not reported in PubMed abstract | Frequency not reported in PubMed abstract | 12 weeks | 24-hour systolic pressure favored extract; no significant adverse events reported 307 received extract and 314 placebo. Background antihypertensive treatment and an undisclosed regimen limit product-level application. |
| Imperatrice 2024 · 60 healthy postmenopausal women age 47–70 | Bonolive from Spanish Manzanilla leaves, standardized to 40% oleuropein | 250 mg extract providing 100 mg oleuropein per administration | Once each morning with breakfast | 12 weeks | Overall MENQoL score and selected lipid or arm-BMD endpoints favored extract; other body-composition outcomes did not Manufacturer employees and a patent inventor were among the authors. Full PMC methods were read. |
| Pinckaers 2025 · 40 healthy older men | Olive leaf extract providing oleuropein | 250 mg extract providing 100 mg oleuropein per day | Per-administration frequency not stated in PubMed abstract | 36 days | Fractional PDH activity changed; strength, fatigue, mitochondrial respiration and whole-body metabolism did not Industry-supported mechanistic trial with multiple endpoints. |
| Leach 2025 · 31 adults with type 2 diabetes not using insulin | Olive leaf extract capsules | Amount not reported in PubMed abstract | Frequency not reported in PubMed abstract | 24 weeks | No significant between-group HbA1c difference; pilot inconclusive 16 received extract and 15 placebo. The abstract supports tolerability, not an effective diabetes regimen. |
There is no RDA, AI or tolerable upper intake level for olive leaf extract. Do not infer oleuropein dose from extract milligrams when the label omits standardization.
- Titration
- No trial-derived titration schedule applies across extracts.
- Timing
- The fully described menopause trial used one capsule each morning at breakfast. Other featured abstracts do not establish administration timing.
- Duration
- Featured trials lasted 36 days, 12 weeks and 24 weeks; none establishes indefinite use.
- Stopping
- Stop and seek review for faintness, repeated low blood-pressure readings, symptomatic low glucose, swelling, hives or persistent gastrointestinal effects.
Three checks before comparing
Keep the formulation, treatment setting and measured result together.
Total milligrams do not reveal oleuropein content.
A trial in treated hypertension does not replace medication.
Biomarkers, symptoms and strength are different outcomes.
What is olive leaf extract commonly used for?
People use it for blood pressure, glucose, cholesterol, menopause symptoms and “immune support.” The best recent human studies concern surrogate measures or symptom scores. They do not show fewer heart attacks, fractures, diabetes complications or infections.
Which form and label details matter?
Record species, plant part, extraction ratio, extract mass, oleuropein percentage and milligrams, hydroxytyrosol content and co-ingredients. A 250 mg extract standardized to 40% oleuropein supplies 100 mg oleuropein; another 250 mg product may not.
What does the human evidence show?
Lamti 2025 randomized 621 people receiving treatment for hypertension to oral olive leaf extract or placebo for 12 weeks. The reported 24-hour systolic change favored extract, while the abstract reports no significant adverse events. It does not provide extract amount, oleuropein content, administration frequency or enough detail here to reproduce the regimen. The finding supports further product-specific assessment, not replacing prescribed therapy. [1]
Imperatrice 2024 randomized 60 healthy postmenopausal women to one 250 mg capsule of a 40% oleuropein extract or 250 mg cellulose each morning at breakfast for 12 weeks. Overall MENQoL improved, while the hot-flash measure and several body-composition outcomes did not show a broad benefit. A right-arm BMD measure and selected lipids favored extract. The small sample, many endpoints and manufacturer ties require restraint. [2]
Pinckaers 2025 randomized 40 healthy older men to 250 mg extract supplying 100 mg oleuropein per day or placebo for 36 days. Fractional pyruvate dehydrogenase activity differed, but absolute activity, mitochondrial respiration, whole-body substrate use, leg strength and fatigue resistance did not. A mechanistic biomarker is not a performance benefit. [3]
Leach 2025 randomized 31 adults with type 2 diabetes to capsules or placebo for 24 weeks. HbA1c, diabetes distress and quality of life did not differ significantly over time between groups. The pilot was inconclusive, and its abstract does not report the capsule amount. [4]
How might olive leaf extract work?
Oleuropein and metabolites such as hydroxytyrosol are studied for vascular, oxidative, glucose and signaling effects. Absorption depends on preparation and metabolism. Laboratory enzyme or receptor effects do not establish disease treatment, and the muscle trial shows why a pathway signal can coexist with null functional outcomes.
What are the risks and interactions?
Reported effects include gastrointestinal upset, headache and allergy. Blood-pressure or glucose effects could add to medicines, making symptoms and measurements clinically important. Do not change medication because a supplement reading changed.
Review use with antihypertensives, insulin or other glucose-lowering medicines, anticoagulants or antiplatelets and before surgery. Evidence is inadequate in pregnancy, breastfeeding and children. Seek urgent care for severe swelling, breathing difficulty, fainting or other signs of anaphylaxis.
Legal status in the United States and Canada
In the United States, olive leaf extract may be sold as a dietary supplement without preapproval as treatment for hypertension, diabetes or menopause.
In Canada, licensed natural health products carry an NPN tied to their exact ingredients, dose and labeled conditions. The NPN does not make different extracts equivalent.
What should be monitored?
Record extract mass, oleuropein amount, manufacturer, lot, time, meals, co-ingredients, blood-pressure technique, glucose context, symptoms and medication changes. Use measurements agreed with a clinician rather than collecting numbers without an action plan.
What happens after stopping?
No withdrawal syndrome or taper is established. Blood pressure, glucose or menopause symptoms may change for unrelated reasons, so reassess with the same method and review treatment changes clinically.
How should it be stored?
Follow the label, keep the product dry and away from heat, retain the lot and expiry and protect it from children.
Community experience
Online reports often omit standardization and medication changes. They may identify nausea or dizziness timing, but cannot establish blood-pressure efficacy, “die-off,” antimicrobial action or product equivalence.
How does olive leaf extract compare with other approaches?
It does not replace prescribed antihypertensives, diabetes care, evidence-based menopause treatment, exercise or dietary patterns. Olive oil food evidence and leaf-extract trials answer different questions.
Common questions
Did the 621-person trial identify a consumer dose?
Not in the PubMed abstract reviewed here. It reports oral extract and 12 weeks without the amount, composition or frequency. [1]
What exactly was used in the menopause trial?
One 250 mg capsule standardized to 40% oleuropein, supplying 100 mg oleuropein, each morning with breakfast for 12 weeks. [2]
Does it improve strength or fatigue?
Not in the 36-day trial, despite a change in fractional PDH activity. [3]
Does it lower HbA1c?
The 24-week pilot found no significant between-group HbA1c difference and was inconclusive. [4]
Is extract mass the same as oleuropein mass?
No. Oleuropein is one standardized component within an extract.
Can it replace blood-pressure medication?
No. The large trial involved people already treated for hypertension.
Is long-term safety established?
No. The featured controlled exposures lasted no longer than 24 weeks.
Glossary
Terms used in this guide.
- Oleuropein
- A secoiridoid commonly used to standardize olive leaf extracts.
- Standardization
- A declared amount or percentage of a marker compound in an extract.
- MENQoL
- A questionnaire measuring menopause-related quality of life.
- Surrogate endpoint
- A laboratory or physiological measure used instead of a direct health outcome.
- HbA1c
- A blood marker reflecting average glucose exposure over recent months.
- Titration
- Planned dose adjustment; no general schedule is established for these extracts.
How this guide was researched
This draft prioritized four current randomized trials covering treated hypertension, menopause symptoms, muscle metabolism and type 2 diabetes. Evidence was refreshed October 9, 2026.
How this guide was made
The ledger preserves extract identity, oleuropein amount, exact versus unreported frequency, background treatment, outcomes, funding and source-access limits.
Research method and gaps
Four PubMed records were checked against live NCBI efetch XML for title, authors, journal, DOI and CommentsCorrections; none carried an erratum or retraction. Full open PMC methods were read for Imperatrice 2024. Lamti 2025, Pinckaers 2025 and Leach 2025 details here are limited to PubMed abstracts.
Gaps include the Lamti product regimen, replicated patient-important outcomes, long-term safety, absolute interaction risk, pregnancy, breastfeeding and pediatric use.
Sources
Search the current randomized trials and inspect the formulation and access limits.
Showing 4 sources
- 01
Efficacy of olive leaf extracts in controlling blood pressure in hypertensive patients: a double-blind randomized clinical trial. ↗
Multicenter randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial
621 treated participants over 12 weeks; amount, composition and frequency are absent from the PubMed abstract.
- 02
Olive Leaf Extract Supplementation Improves Postmenopausal Symptoms: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Parallel Study on Postmenopausal Women. ↗
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial
60 women; one 250 mg, 40% oleuropein capsule each morning at breakfast for 12 weeks; manufacturer ties disclosed.
- 03
Oleuropein Supplementation Increases Resting Skeletal Muscle Fractional Pyruvate Dehydrogenase Activity but Does Not Influence Whole-Body Metabolism: A Randomized, Double-Blind, and Placebo-Controlled Trial in Healthy, Older Males. ↗
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled mechanistic trial
40 older men; 250 mg extract providing 100 mg oleuropein daily for 36 days, with null strength and fatigue outcomes.
- 04
Efficacy and safety of olive leaf extract (Olea europaea L.) for glycaemic control in adults with type 2 diabetes mellitus (ESOLED): A pilot randomised controlled trial. ↗
Pilot randomized placebo-controlled trial
31 adults over 24 weeks; no significant HbA1c difference and amount absent from the abstract.
No matching sources
Try a different term or show the full list.