Skip to main content

For informational and research purposes only.

Medical DisclaimerTerms of Use

Noopept: The Definitive Guide

Noopept has a small active-comparator study and an open post-stroke report, but no placebo-controlled evidence establishes cognitive enhancement in healthy adults. The best-read full report also recorded two withdrawals for increased blood pressure.

Noopept evidence at a glance

The main 53-person study compared noopept with piracetam without placebo, 41 completed, and two noopept participants withdrew for increased blood pressure.

Noopept

Omberacetam • synthetic cognitive drug

53Randomized to two active medicines
41Completed 56 days
No placeboHealthy benefit unproven

Read the full participant flow

  1. 1

    Noopept

    31 assigned • 10 mg twice daily

  2. 2

    Piracetam

    22 assigned • active comparator

  3. 3

    Safety

    2 BP withdrawals on noopept

Duration

56 days

Daily total

20 mg/day

Comparator

Piracetam • 1,200 mg/day

Healthy use

Not established

The main comparison had 53 participants, an active comparator and no placebo. Forty-one completed, and two noopept participants withdrew for increased blood pressure.
Published by DoserlyUpdated Next scheduled review: April 202712 min readHow this guide was made
In this guide

What is noopept?

Noopept is a synthetic proline-glycine derivative also called omberacetam or GVS-111. It is often grouped with racetams in product catalogs, though its chemical structure is different. It has no nutritional role, deficiency state or established intake requirement.

The strongest accessible human record is a 2009 comparison with piracetam. Fifty-three outpatients with mild cognitive disorders of vascular or post-traumatic origin were randomized to one of the two active medicines; there was no placebo and no reported masking. Only 41 completed 56 days. Both groups improved on several measures, while the authors reported some noopept advantages. That design cannot show how much improvement exceeded time, practice effects, expectation or regression to the mean. [1]

A second open prospective report enrolled 60 people after ischemic stroke and reported better cognitive measures after two months at 20 mg/day. It adds a different clinical population but does not establish healthy-user benefit. [2]

Typical Noopept Research Protocols

CautionThese schedules document drug studies in cognitive impairment. They are not self-treatment or study-enhancement regimens and should not be copied, compounded, sprayed intranasally, escalated or stacked without appropriate clinical oversight.
The amount per administration is shown only where the full report supplies it. The open post-stroke abstract reports a daily total only. [1], [2]
Study and populationProduct and routeAmount each administrationDaily totalFrequency and durationMain interpretation
Neznamov 2009 · 53 with vascular-origin or post-concussion cognitive disorders; 31 assigned noopeptNoopept oral monotherapy10 mg20 mg/dayTwice daily for 56 daysActive-comparator study without placebo; 41/53 completed overall
Amelin 2011 · 60 people with mild cognitive impairment after ischemic strokeNoopept; formulation and route not reported in accessible abstractNot reported20 mg/dayAdministration frequency not reported; two monthsOpen prospective study reported better MMSE and verbal-association measures versus controls

The repeated 20 mg/day total belongs to these clinical records, not to an established consumer protocol. The 2009 paper provides 10 mg twice daily. The post-stroke abstract does not, so this guide does not assume the same schedule.

Product identity
Record omberacetam/noopept name, manufacturer, lot, dosage form and whether the exact finished product is authorized.
Administration
Keep amount each time, daily total, route and timing separate; intranasal use is not represented by these oral clinical reports.
Outcome and safety
Define the cognitive or functional outcome and record sleep, irritability, blood pressure and treatment changes.

What is noopept commonly used for?

Vascular and post-traumatic cognitive disorders

The 2009 full report included 37 people with vascular-origin organic emotional-lability or asthenic disorder and 16 with post-concussion syndrome. Thirty-one received noopept and 22 received piracetam. The paper reported within-group cognitive and symptom changes and some CGI advantages for noopept, while cognitive-scale effects were described as comparable between medicines. [1]

The meaningful limitation is the missing placebo. Randomization between two active treatments does not reveal whether either medicine outperformed no treatment. Attrition also mattered: 12 of 53 did not complete, including four in the noopept group and eight in the piracetam group.

Mild cognitive impairment after stroke

The 2011 open prospective report included 60 people who had experienced stroke within the prior 12 months. The abstract reports improved MMSE and lateral and categorical word-association measures after two months at 20 mg/day compared with controls. It does not provide group counts, allocation, masking, formulation or administration frequency. [2]

Healthy cognition

Neither human report studied healthy students, professionals or older adults without neurologic impairment. No strong placebo-controlled trial establishes better memory, focus or learning in healthy users. A companion EEG report described alpha, beta and delta rhythm changes in impaired patients, but EEG patterns are not proof of improved daily function and may overlap the main clinical program. [3]

Main study design

Randomized between medicines, without placebo

Noopept31 assigned • 20 mg/day
Piracetam22 assigned • 1,200 mg/day
Interpretation41 completed; within-group change cannot isolate treatment effect
The main report compared two active medicines. Random allocation does not compensate for the absence of a placebo or the 12 non-completers. Sources: Neznamov full report.

What do the mechanism studies show?

Rat studies report changes in hippocampal NGF and BDNF mRNA, and rat hippocampal-slice work implicates α7 nicotinic acetylcholine receptors on interneurons. These are useful mechanistic hypotheses. They do not establish a human memory effect, clinical dose or need for a choline co-product. [4], [5]

A 2021 inflammation paper was formally retracted. Its findings are excluded from this guide rather than used as positive mechanism evidence. [7]

How do forms and labels differ?

Names include noopept, omberacetam, GVS-111 and N-phenylacetyl-L-prolylglycine ethyl ester. An authorized tablet in one country, an imported capsule, bulk powder and an online nasal preparation are not interchangeable. The clinical records here used oral treatment; they do not validate an intranasal schedule.

In a laboratory study of ten cognitive-enhancement products labeled with unapproved drug names, declared omberacetam was sometimes absent and undeclared drugs were present. A label or certificate cannot guarantee equivalence to the studied medicine. [6]

How should noopept be stored?

Follow the pharmacy label for any lawfully dispensed product. Keep it in the original labeled container, dry, away from heat and inaccessible to children. Do not store unidentified powder beside food or routine supplements. Storage cannot fix substitution, contamination or inaccurate strength.

What does the human evidence show?

Doserly diagram distinguishing mechanisms, biomarkers, symptoms, function and clinical outcomes.
Within-group improvement, EEG change and animal mechanisms do not substitute for a placebo-controlled healthy-user outcome.
QuestionBest direct evidenceFindingBoundary
Did noopept outperform piracetam in impaired outpatients?53-person randomized active-comparator studySome CGI advantages; cognitive effects described as comparableNo placebo, no reported masking, 41 completed
Did cognition improve after stroke?60-person open prospective reportMMSE and word-association improvement reported versus controlsSparse group and allocation detail in accessible abstract
Does noopept enhance healthy cognition?No strong direct placebo-controlled trial foundUnprovenImpaired populations cannot be transferred
Do molecular studies establish benefit?Rat and hippocampal-slice experimentsNGF/BDNF and α7-nAChR hypothesesPreclinical endpoints, not human function
Are online products reliable?Ten-product laboratory analysisMissing declared and undeclared drug ingredients foundSmall targeted sample, not a market prevalence estimate

Participant flow and safety

Completion and withdrawals change the reading

53 enrolled31 noopept • 22 piracetam
41 completed12 stopped before day 56
2 BP withdrawalsNoopept participants required treatment
The main study’s 12 non-completers and two blood-pressure withdrawals belong in the interpretation, not only in a footnote. Sources: Neznamov full report.

What are the risks and interactions?

In the 31-person noopept arm, four participants stopped early: one moved, one reported lack of benefit and two had increased blood pressure that required treatment. Table 3 lists 21 adverse events and explicitly allows multiple events per person. It includes seven sleep-disturbance events, four increased-blood-pressure events and three irritability events. These are event counts, not percentages of participants. [1]

The study is too small and short to exclude uncommon or delayed harm. Because noopept has central nervous system activity and blood-pressure changes occurred, review stimulant medicines, modafinil or adrafinil, decongestants, high-caffeine products, other nootropics, antihypertensives and sedatives with a clinician or pharmacist. Evidence does not establish that choline prevents headache or other adverse effects.

Pregnancy, breastfeeding, childhood, kidney or liver disease, uncontrolled hypertension, cardiovascular disease, seizure history, bipolar or psychotic illness and perioperative use deserve clinical review. Seek urgent care for severe headache with neurologic symptoms, chest pain, fainting, seizure, severe agitation or confusion, or allergic symptoms.

What is the legal and regulatory status?

FDA’s 2019 Peak Nootropics warning letter names Noopept and states the cited marketed product was not a dietary supplement or conventional food. [8] Australia names omberacetam under the Schedule 4 prescription-only racetam entry. [9] OPSS includes omberacetam/Noopept among racetam drugs prohibited as supplement ingredients for U.S. service members. [10]

In Canada, verify any claimed medicine through the Drug Product Database and any claimed natural health product through the Licensed Natural Health Products Database. An online listing is not proof of a DIN or NPN. [11]

Noopept is not named in WADA’s 2026 S6 stimulant list, but omission by name is not athlete clearance. S0 can apply to pharmacological substances without current governmental therapeutic approval. Athletes should obtain current sport- and jurisdiction-specific advice.

When should use stop?

Stop an unverified product and seek advice for a new or sustained blood-pressure rise, severe headache, insomnia, agitation, marked irritability, mood change or neurologic symptoms. Do not start or stop a lawfully prescribed cognitive medicine without the prescriber.

What should be monitored?

In medical care, define the cognitive and functional endpoint before treatment. Record baseline performance, each oral administration, adherence, blood pressure when clinically directed, sleep, irritability, other medicines and reasons for stopping. Reassess whether change exceeds practice effects and ordinary fluctuation.

The 2009 study demonstrates why participant flow matters: a headline about relative efficacy is incomplete without the 41/53 completion count and the reasons for withdrawal.

What does community experience add?

Public reports may surface irritability, insomnia, headaches, subjective focus changes and route-specific problems. Product identity, co-use and expectation are rarely controlled. No systematic current community sample was assembled, so this guide reports no consensus dose, intranasal schedule, cycle, response rate or required choline stack.

How does noopept compare with related options?

CompoundEvidence focusMain distinction
NoopeptSmall active-comparator and open post-stroke reportsNot chemically a classic racetam; no placebo-controlled healthy evidence
PiracetamBroader clinical history and specialist myoclonusComparator in the main noopept study; different approval context
AniracetamOlder dementia study and scopolamine challengeDifferent racetam and formulation questions
OxiracetamModern post-stroke null trialLarge contemporary placebo-controlled negative anchor
PhenylpiracetamSparse impaired-population reportsNamed WADA S6.A stimulant in competition

Common questions

Is noopept a peptide or a racetam?

It is a synthetic proline-glycine derivative often grouped with racetams commercially, but it is not a nutritional peptide or classic racetam molecule.

Did the main human study have a placebo?

No. It compared noopept with piracetam. Both groups’ changes therefore cannot show how much exceeded no treatment. [1]

How many people completed the main study?

Forty-one of 53 completed 56 days. Four noopept participants and eight piracetam participants stopped early. [1]

Is 10 mg twice daily a recommended dose?

It is the exact oral schedule from one small impaired-population study, not a validated healthy-user recommendation.

Does noopept raise blood pressure?

The main report recorded four increased-blood-pressure events in the noopept arm, including two significant events that led to withdrawal and treatment. The small study cannot estimate an individual risk precisely. [1]

Should it be used intranasally?

The human studies summarized here used oral treatment. They do not establish an intranasal formulation, amount, absorption profile or safety.

Does it require choline?

No controlled evidence establishes a universal choline requirement or proves that co-use prevents adverse effects.

Was a noopept study retracted?

Yes. A 2021 persistent-inflammation animal paper was retracted and is excluded from this evidence synthesis. [7]

Glossary

Plain explanations of noopept evidence terms.

Active comparator
A study group receiving another active treatment rather than placebo or no treatment.
Attrition
Participants who stop before study completion; unequal or substantial loss can change interpretation.
MMSE
A brief global cognitive screening test that is sensitive to practice and clinical context.
Omberacetam
International nonproprietary name used for noopept.
Adverse-event count
Number of events; one participant may contribute more than one, so it is not automatically a participant percentage.
Retraction
Formal withdrawal of a paper from the reliable scientific record.
Schedule 4
Australia’s prescription-only scheduling category.

How this guide was researched

Seven PubMed records were checked live through NCBI EFetch for title, author, journal, volume, issue, pages, DOI and descendant publication-status notices. The complete 2009 report supplied participant flow, exact twice-daily administration, endpoints and Table 3 safety events. The 2011 indexed and publisher abstracts supplied the post-stroke design and exposed its missing fields. Official FDA, TGA, OPSS and WADA sources supplied jurisdiction-specific context.

Research record · checked October 9, 2026

Identity verification: PMID 19234797 is the 53-person noopept-versus-piracetam comparison; PMID 22500312 the 60-person post-stroke report; PMID 19008801 the EEG report; PMID 19240853 and 36195298 the rat mechanism studies; PMID 34484905 the product analysis; PMID 33644478 the retracted inflammation paper.

Full-method review: the main study used 10 mg twice daily, not an inferred split. It had no placebo, 41/53 completers and two noopept withdrawals for increased blood pressure requiring treatment.

Retraction review: NCBI links PMID 33644478 to retraction notice PMID 34041381. Its findings are excluded.

Event-count rule: Table 3 permits multiple adverse events per participant; event totals are not presented as participant rates.

Healthy-use boundary: neither clinical report tested healthy cognitive enhancement.

Explore the sources

Human reports, preclinical mechanisms, product analysis, retraction notice and official regulatory records.

Showing 11 sources

  1. 01

    Comparative studies of Noopept and piracetam in the treatment of patients with mild cognitive disorders in organic brain diseases of vascular and traumatic origin. ↗

    Randomized active-comparator clinical study

    53 enrolled, 41 completed; noopept 10 mg twice daily for 56 days; no placebo or reported masking.

  2. 02

    [Noopept in the treatment of mild cognitive impairment in patients with stroke]. ↗

    Open prospective clinical report

    60 post-stroke patients; 20 mg/day for two months; favorable cognitive measures with sparse accessible methods.

  3. 03

    [Clinical and electroencephalographic characteristic of noopept in patients with mild cognitive impairment of posttraumatic and vascular origin]. ↗

    Clinical EEG report

    Reports rhythm changes in vascular and post-traumatic impairment; may overlap the main clinical program.

  4. 04

    Noopept stimulates the expression of NGF and BDNF in rat hippocampus. ↗

    Rat molecular study

    Mechanistic hypothesis only; not a human cognitive outcome.

  5. 05

    Effect of nootropic dipeptide noopept on CA1 pyramidal neurons involves α7AChRs on interneurons in hippocampal slices from rat. ↗

    Rat hippocampal-slice electrophysiology

    Supports a receptor hypothesis without establishing human benefit or a clinical schedule.

  6. 06

    Five Unapproved Drugs Found in Cognitive Enhancement Supplements. ↗

    Laboratory product analysis

    Declared omberacetam was sometimes absent and undeclared drug ingredients were found.

  7. 07
  8. 08

    Peak Nootropics warning letter ↗

    Official enforcement record

    Names Noopept and rejects dietary-supplement treatment for the cited marketed product.

  9. 09

    Final scheduling decision for racetams ↗

    Official scheduling decision

    Names omberacetam under Australia’s Schedule 4 prescription-only racetam entry.

  10. 10

    Nootropics: drugs versus dietary supplements ↗

    Official U.S. military education

    Includes omberacetam/Noopept among racetam drugs prohibited as supplement ingredients for service members.

  11. 11

    Drug Product Database ↗

    Official product database

    Use to verify whether a claimed Canadian medicine has a current DIN and status.

Editorial note

This guide uses the full clinical report for participant flow, administration and safety rather than repeating summary claims. It excludes a retracted paper and keeps the absence of placebo central to the conclusion.