Skip to main content

For informational and research purposes only.

Medical DisclaimerTerms of Use

Phenylpiracetam: The Definitive Guide

Phenylpiracetam has two often-cited impaired-population reports, but their accessible methods are sparse and neither establishes cognitive or physical enhancement in healthy adults. It is also a named WADA stimulant prohibited in competition.

Phenylpiracetam evidence and status at a glance

Two human reports concern impaired neurologic populations, healthy-user enhancement remains unproven, and WADA prohibits fonturacetam in competition.

Phenylpiracetam

Synthetic racetam • fonturacetam

200599 people • mixed chronic brain injury
2010400 people • stroke rehabilitation
Healthy useBenefit not established

Three separate questions

  1. 1

    Evidence

    Sparse impaired-population reports

  2. 2

    Product

    Identity and authorization uncertain

  3. 3

    Sport

    WADA S6.A • in competition

2005 report

200 mg/day • 1 month

2010 report

400 mg/day • 3 courses

Per administration

Not reported

WADA 2026

Prohibited in competition

Two impaired-population reports are not healthy-user enhancement trials. Athlete status and product identity materially change the decision.
Published by DoserlyUpdated Next scheduled review: April 202713 min readHow this guide was made
In this guide

What is phenylpiracetam?

Phenylpiracetam, also called fonturacetam, 4-phenylpiracetam, carphedon or phenotropil, is a synthetic phenyl-substituted racetam. It is discussed online as a stimulant or “smart drug,” but a marketing category does not establish an approved indication, reliable product or healthy-person benefit.

The direct human record is narrow. One indexed report followed 99 people with chronic brain injury or disease and used 200 mg/day for one month. Another included 400 people after ischemic stroke; half received three courses within complex rehabilitation at 400 mg/day during the first post-stroke year. Both abstracts report favorable outcomes, but accessible reporting does not establish the modern safeguards needed to interpret effect size or bias. [1], [2]

Mechanistic work on isolated R- and S-enantiomers is mostly preclinical. It can inform hypotheses about dopamine transport and inflammation, but it cannot prove that a retail racemate improves cognition, mood, weight or exercise performance in a person. [5], [6]

Typical Phenylpiracetam Research Protocols

CautionThese rows document impaired-population clinical reports. They are not self-treatment, study, exercise or weight-loss regimens and should not be copied, escalated or combined without appropriate clinical oversight.
The accessible abstracts report daily totals but not the number or amount of administrations. Missing details remain missing rather than being inferred. [1], [2]
Study and populationProduct and routeAmount each administrationDaily totalFrequency and durationMain interpretation
Savchenko 2005 · 99 people with chronic encephalopathy after cerebrovascular injury, trauma or glioma surgeryPhenotropil; route and formulation not reported in indexed abstractNot reported200 mg/dayNumber of daily administrations not reported; one monthFavorable motor, cognitive, daily-activity and mood changes reported; comparator and allocation not described
Koval’chuk 2010 · 400 people after ischemic stroke; 200 in treatment groupPhenotropil as part of complex rehabilitation; route and formulation not reportedNot reported400 mg/dayThree courses during one year; administration frequency and course timing not reportedBetter recovery scores reported; allocation and blinding not described in abstract

The two daily totals should not be presented as a range. They came from different clinical populations and reports, and neither accessible abstract supplies the amount per administration. A bottle instruction, marketplace review or forum schedule does not fill that methods gap.

Product identity
Record the exact name, manufacturer, lot, declared form and whether a regulator recognizes the finished product.
Administration
Keep amount each time, total per day and timing separate. Do not calculate a per-dose amount from a daily total.
Clinical and sport context
Record diagnosis, co-treatments, outcome measure and whether anti-doping or military rules apply.

What is phenylpiracetam commonly used for?

Neurologic rehabilitation

Savchenko and colleagues described 99 people with encephalopathy after cerebrovascular injury, traumatic brain injury or glioma surgery. After 200 mg/day for one month, the abstract reports changes in movement, coordination, higher brain functions, memory, attention, daily activity, mood and EEG patterns. Without a clearly reported comparator, allocation method or blinded assessment in the accessible record, improvement cannot be cleanly separated from recovery, co-care, practice effects or selection. [1]

Koval’chuk and colleagues described 400 people after ischemic stroke. Two hundred received three phenotropil courses within complex rehabilitation at 400 mg/day during the first year. The abstract reports better neurologic-function and daily-living recovery than the control group. The sparse methods do not show how groups were assigned or assessments blinded, and complex rehabilitation prevents simple attribution. [2]

Healthy cognition, energy and physical performance

The two human reports did not enroll healthy students, shift workers or athletes seeking above-baseline performance. A result in chronic encephalopathy or stroke rehabilitation cannot establish sharper focus, more motivation, less sleep need or better exercise performance in a healthy person.

Modern reviews map a wider experimental and historical literature, but they do not supply a pooled, bias-adjusted estimate for healthy cognition. The unauthorized-nootropic review likewise documents regulatory and doping concerns rather than proving performance benefit. [3], [4]

WADA classification answers a rules question, not an efficacy question. A substance can be prohibited without a consumer-level randomized trial proving the effect claimed in online marketing.

Population map

Do not transfer the evidence to healthy enhancement

Chronic brain injury99 people • 200 mg/day • one month
Stroke rehabilitation400 people • 200 treated • sparse methods
Healthy adultsNo strong controlled enhancement trial verified
The verified human reports concern recovery after brain injury or stroke. Neither is a controlled healthy-user enhancement trial. Sources: Savchenko report · Koval’chuk report.

What do the R- and S-enantiomer studies show?

S-phenylpiracetam reduced weight gain in rodent models without increasing locomotor activity. R-phenylpiracetam reached mouse brain tissue and was studied in experimental inflammation models. These findings concern isolated enantiomers, animal physiology and experimental dosing. They do not establish a human weight-loss indication, a safe cognitive schedule or equivalence to a racemic online product. [5], [6]

How do forms and labels differ?

Names can include phenylpiracetam, fonturacetam, phenotropil, carphedon or 4-phenylpiracetam. The molecule is chiral; a racemate contains both mirror-image forms, while research on isolated R or S material examines a different composition. Do not transfer an enantiomer-specific animal result to an unlabeled capsule.

A prescription medicine in one jurisdiction, an imported finished product, a marketplace capsule and bulk “research” powder do not carry the same authorization or quality controls. Cohen and colleagues found inaccurate labels and undeclared drugs in a sample of ten cognitive-enhancement products marketed with unapproved drug names. The study supports caution about this market category; it does not estimate the failure rate of every phenylpiracetam product. [7]

How should phenylpiracetam be stored?

Follow the pharmacy label for any lawfully dispensed product. Keep it in the original labeled container, dry, away from heat and inaccessible to children. Do not store unidentified powder beside food or routine supplements. Storage cannot correct substitution, contamination or inaccurate strength.

What does the human evidence show?

Doserly diagram distinguishing mechanisms, biomarkers, symptoms, function and clinical outcomes.
Animal mechanisms and rehabilitation reports occupy different evidence levels. Neither establishes healthy-user cognitive enhancement.
QuestionBest direct evidenceFindingBoundary
Does it improve recovery after mixed chronic brain injury?99-person indexed reportBroad favorable changes reportedComparator, allocation and blinding not described in accessible abstract
Does it improve post-stroke rehabilitation?400-person report; 200 treatedBetter recovery scales reportedComplex rehabilitation and sparse allocation/blinding detail
Does it enhance healthy cognition or exercise?No strong direct controlled trial foundUnprovenImpaired populations and animal work cannot be transferred
Do isolated enantiomers affect dopamine transport or inflammation?Rodent experimentsMechanistic and preclinical signalsDifferent composition, species and outcomes
Are online products equivalent to studied medicine?Product laboratory analysis and enforcement recordIdentity and authorization require verificationSampled products do not estimate the whole market

Three separate decisions

A study claim does not override a sport rule

Clinical evidenceDoes a defined population improve on a prespecified outcome?
Product statusIs the exact finished product authorized and traceable?
Anti-dopingWADA S6.A prohibits fonturacetam in competition.
Clinical evidence, product authorization and anti-doping status are separate questions. A favorable study claim cannot override a current sport rule. Sources: 2026 WADA list · FDA warning letter.

What are the risks and interactions?

The sparse accessible human reports do not define a modern adverse-event rate or long-term safety profile. Stimulant-like effects discussed for the compound make insomnia, agitation, anxiety, headache, appetite change, blood-pressure or heart-rate change clinically relevant concerns, but this guide does not assign frequencies that the trials did not report.

Combining it with prescription stimulants, modafinil or adrafinil, decongestants, high-caffeine pre-workouts, other racetams or multiple psychoactive products increases uncertainty and can obscure which exposure caused a change. Evidence does not establish that adding choline prevents headache or makes phenylpiracetam safer.

Pregnancy, breastfeeding, childhood, seizure history, bipolar or psychotic illness, cardiovascular disease, uncontrolled hypertension, kidney disease and perioperative use deserve clinician or pharmacist review. Seek urgent care for seizure, severe agitation or confusion, chest pain, fainting, sudden neurologic change, severe headache with neurologic symptoms or allergic symptoms.

What is the legal and regulatory status?

In the United States, FDA’s 2019 Peak Nootropics warning letter named phenylpiracetam and stated that the marketed product was not a dietary supplement or conventional food in that enforcement context. Australia names phenylpiracetam in its Schedule 4 racetam decision, meaning prescription-only scheduling. Those are jurisdiction-specific facts, not global legal advice or proof that any online seller is authorized. [8], [9]

In Canada, verify any claimed medicine in the Drug Product Database and any claimed natural health product in the Licensed Natural Health Products Database. An online listing is not evidence of a DIN or NPN. [12]

WADA’s 2026 list names fonturacetam [4-phenylpiracetam (carphedon)] in S6.A non-specified stimulants, prohibited in competition. The list also covers relevant optical isomers. Athletes should use current governing-body and anti-doping advice; supplement certification does not authorize a prohibited ingredient. OPSS also lists racetams including phenylpiracetam among DoD-prohibited supplement ingredients for service members. [10], [11]

When should use stop?

Stop an unverified product and seek advice for new insomnia, marked agitation, mood destabilization, persistent palpitations, blood-pressure concerns, or neurologic symptoms. A competitive athlete or service member should stop relying on a vendor’s “legal” claim and check the current applicable rule before any exposure.

What should be monitored?

If exposure has already occurred, record the exact product and lot, administration time, amount, co-products, sleep, mood, resting heart rate or clinician-directed blood pressure, appetite and any adverse change. In rehabilitation care, the prescriber should define the neurologic or functional measure before treatment and review co-therapies that could explain improvement.

A personal timeline can make an adverse-event conversation clearer. It cannot establish purity, prove efficacy or turn a daily total from an old report into an individualized schedule.

What does community experience add?

Public reports may surface insomnia, headache, anxiety, tolerance concerns and sourcing problems. Most reports cannot verify capsule contents and often include caffeine, choline or other nootropics. No systematic current community sample was assembled, so this guide reports no consensus dose, cycle, response rate or mandatory stack.

How does phenylpiracetam compare with related options?

CompoundEvidence focusMain distinction
PhenylpiracetamSparse impaired-population reportsNamed WADA S6.A stimulant; healthy enhancement unproven
PiracetamMemory synthesis and specialist myoclonusBroader clinical history; different sport and regulatory context
OxiracetamModern post-stroke null trial and older dementia studiesLarge contemporary negative clinical anchor
AniracetamOlder dementia study and scopolamine challengeDifferent racetam with its own formulation and evidence limits
Modafinil/adrafinilWakefulness medicine and prodrug contextsDifferent pharmacology, approval and monitoring questions

Common questions

Is phenylpiracetam a dietary supplement?

It is a synthetic racetam, not a nutrient. FDA has said a phenylpiracetam product cited in a 2019 warning letter was not a dietary supplement or conventional food in that context. [8]

Does it improve focus in healthy people?

No strong controlled healthy-adult trial was verified. Reports in people with chronic brain injury or stroke rehabilitation do not answer that question.

Is 200–400 mg/day an established dose range?

No. Those are separate daily totals from two different clinical reports. The accessible abstracts do not provide amount per administration or administration frequency.

Should choline be taken with it?

No controlled evidence establishes a universal choline requirement or shows that a choline product prevents adverse effects.

Are R-phenylpiracetam and S-phenylpiracetam interchangeable?

No. They are mirror-image forms studied separately in preclinical work. Their animal findings do not establish equivalence to each other or to a retail racemate.

Is phenylpiracetam banned in sport?

The 2026 WADA list names fonturacetam under S6.A as prohibited in competition. Athletes need current sport-specific advice on timing and therapeutic-use rules. [10]

Is it legal in Canada or the United States?

Do not rely on a marketplace listing. U.S. FDA enforcement and Australian scheduling are explicit; Canadian consumers should verify any claimed product through Health Canada’s official databases.

Does a third-party test make it safe for athletes?

Testing may reduce some contamination uncertainty, but it cannot authorize a named prohibited ingredient or prove benefit and safety.

Glossary

Plain explanations of phenylpiracetam evidence and rule terms.

Racetam
A family of synthetic pyrrolidone compounds studied or marketed for neurologic or cognitive effects.
Fonturacetam
An international name used for phenylpiracetam; WADA lists it with 4-phenylpiracetam and carphedon.
Racemate
A mixture containing both mirror-image forms of a chiral molecule.
Enantiomer
One of two mirror-image molecular forms, commonly labeled R or S.
Indexed abstract
A database summary that can omit allocation, formulation, administration and outcome details found in a full report.
WADA S6.A
The non-specified stimulant subsection of the in-competition prohibited list.
Schedule 4
Australia’s prescription-only scheduling category.

How this guide was researched

Eight PubMed identities were checked live through NCBI EFetch for title, author, journal, volume, issue, pages, DOI and descendant publication-status records. The two human clinical abstracts were read for exact population, daily total, duration and reporting gaps. Current WADA, FDA, TGA and OPSS sources supplied rule and regulatory context.

Research record · checked October 9, 2026

Identity verification: PMID 16447562 is the 99-person chronic-brain-lesion report; PMID 21626817 the 400-person stroke-rehabilitation report; PMID 39269293 the 2024 review; PMID 37357012 the unauthorized-nootropic and doping review; PMID 20166767 the racetam review; PMID 28743458 and 32279140 the enantiomer-specific animal studies; PMID 34484905 the product analysis.

Publication status: no linked erratum, expression of concern or retraction appeared for the used records.

Methods boundary: the two clinical abstracts report daily totals but not amount per administration or administration frequency. Those fields remain unreported.

Transfer boundary: impaired-population reports and animal mechanisms do not establish healthy cognition, exercise or weight-loss benefit.

Rule review: the 2026 WADA list, FDA warning letter, TGA scheduling decision and current OPSS page were checked directly.

Explore the sources

Human reports, reviews, preclinical evidence, product analysis and current official records.

Showing 12 sources

  1. 01

    [The phenotropil treatment of the consequences of brain organic lesions]. ↗

    Human clinical report · indexed abstract

    99 people; 200 mg/day for one month; favorable changes reported, with major accessible-method gaps.

  2. 02

    [Efficacy of phenotropil in the rehabilitation of stroke patients]. ↗

    Human comparative report · indexed abstract

    400 people; 200 treated at 400 mg/day in three courses; better recovery scores reported within complex rehabilitation.

  3. 03

    [Pharmacological effects of fonturacetam (Actitropil) and prospects for its clinical use]. ↗

    Narrative review

    Maps experimental and clinical literature; not a pooled efficacy estimate.

  4. 04

    Unauthorized ingredients in "nootropic" dietary supplements: A review of the history, pharmacology, prevalence, international regulations, and potential as doping agents. ↗

    Regulatory and doping review

    Reviews unauthorized nootropic ingredients and identifies fonturacetam’s sport prohibition history.

  5. 05

    S-phenylpiracetam, a selective DAT inhibitor, reduces body weight gain without influencing locomotor activity. ↗

    Mouse and rat experiments

    Enantiomer-specific preclinical findings; not human cognition or weight-loss evidence.

  6. 06

    Neuroprotective and anti-inflammatory activity of DAT inhibitor R-phenylpiracetam in experimental models of inflammation in male mice. ↗

    Male-mouse experiments

    Supports dopamine-transporter and inflammation hypotheses without establishing human benefit.

  7. 07

    Five Unapproved Drugs Found in Cognitive Enhancement Supplements. ↗

    Laboratory product analysis

    Found inaccurate labels and undeclared drugs in sampled nootropic products.

  8. 08

    Peak Nootropics warning letter ↗

    Official enforcement record

    Names phenylpiracetam and rejects dietary-supplement treatment for the cited marketed product.

  9. 09

    Final scheduling decision for racetams ↗

    Official scheduling decision

    Names phenylpiracetam under Australia’s Schedule 4 prescription-only racetam entry.

  10. 10

    2026 Prohibited List ↗

    Official anti-doping standard

    Lists fonturacetam under S6.A non-specified stimulants prohibited in competition.

  11. 11

    Nootropics: drugs versus dietary supplements ↗

    Official U.S. military education

    Names racetam drugs including phenylpiracetam among DoD-prohibited supplement ingredients.

  12. 12

    Drug Product Database ↗

    Official product database

    Use to verify whether a claimed Canadian medicine has a current DIN and status.

Editorial note

This guide preserves the two human reports while keeping their missing methods visible. It does not convert daily totals into administrations, animal mechanisms into human benefit, or anti-doping classification into proof of efficacy.