In this guide
What is Hyaluronic Acid?
Oral hyaluronan trials use defined molecular weights and finished products. Small, often manufacturer-linked studies do not transfer to injectable or topical hyaluronic acid. No U.S. RDA, AI, UL or established oral treatment dose exists for hyaluronic acid. Study schedules are product-specific. [1]
Typical Hyaluronic Acid Protocols
| Source and population | Form and amount each time | Frequency | Total exposure | Duration or boundary |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oe 2017 · 60 adults with crow’s-feet wrinkles | HA 120 mg at 2 kDa or 300 kDa | Daily; administration count not reported in abstract | 120 mg/day | 12 weeks; image and questionnaire outcomes |
| Hsu 2021 · 40 adults aged 35–64 | Oral HA 120 mg | Daily; administration count not reported | 120 mg/day | 12 weeks; skin hydration, TEWL and wrinkles |
| Sugiyama 2024 · 31 healthy adults analyzed | Sodium hyaluronate 111 mg/day | Daily; administration count not reported | 111 mg/day | 12 weeks; knee symptom scales |
These rows reproduce sources. Do not average them into one universal regimen.
From source to outcome
Do not transfer evidence.
Small and company-linked.
31 healthy adults analyzed.
Which forms and label details matter?
Record hyaluronic acid versus sodium hyaluronate, active milligrams, molecular weight when supplied, fermentation or animal source, and all co-ingredients. Oral, topical and injected products are distinct routes.
How should it be stored?
Follow the label, close the container and protect it from heat, light and moisture.
Read the label before the claim
Keep the tested preparation.
Do not infer a universal regimen.
Appearance is not disease treatment.
What is it commonly used for?
Oral products are marketed for skin moisture, wrinkles and joint comfort. Human evidence is small and product-linked; it does not establish treatment of osteoarthritis or replacement of prescribed injections.
What does human research show?
Oe randomized 60 Japanese adults to 120 mg/day of 2 kDa HA, 300 kDa HA or placebo for 12 weeks. Selected wrinkle-replica measures favored HA, but most investigators worked for the ingredient company and the small cosmetic study did not establish disease treatment. [2] Hsu randomized 40 adults to 120 mg/day or placebo for 12 weeks and reported improvements in selected skin hydration, transepidermal water loss, elasticity and wrinkle measures; company-affiliated authors again limit independence. [3] Sugiyama studied 111 mg/day sodium hyaluronate for 12 weeks in 31 analyzed healthy adults with minimal radiographic change and found selected knee-symptom differences. [4] These trials cannot be pooled into a general oral HA dose or transferred to injected HA.

How might it act?
Hyaluronan binds water in tissues and synovial fluid, but oral digestion, molecular size and product processing complicate exposure. Tissue biology alone does not prove that an oral product changes a clinical outcome.
How does it compare with related products?
| Product | Identity to preserve | Evidence boundary |
|---|---|---|
| Collagen | Source, hydrolysis and peptide grams | Skin findings are sensitive to funding and study quality |
| Hyaluronic acid | Hyaluronan mass and molecular weight | Small product-linked oral trials |
| Keratin | Hydrolysate source and co-ingredients | Finished-product evidence cannot isolate generic keratin |
| Astaxanthin | Natural or synthetic source and active mg | Small skin trials do not establish disease prevention |
What are the risks and interactions?
Short trials reported mostly mild events, but long-term safety across preparations is limited. Review allergy/source, pregnancy, breastfeeding, cancer treatment, upcoming procedures and persistent joint swelling. Do not swallow injectable or topical products.
Which medicines require review?
Have the product reviewed with medicines, before surgery, and during pregnancy or breastfeeding. No universal separation interval is established.
Regulatory status: In the United States, supplements generally lack premarket efficacy approval. In Canada, verify the finished product’s NPN or DIN-HM and licensed conditions. [1], [5]
What should be monitored?
Record product, lot, form, amount per administration, frequency, daily total, co-ingredients, meals, symptoms, medicines, chosen outcome and review date.
What happens when it is stopped?
No ingredient-specific withdrawal syndrome is established. Record the stop date, symptoms and chosen outcome; seek care for a persistent serious symptom.
Seek prompt care for a serious allergic reaction, unusual bleeding, persistent palpitations, chest pain or another severe symptom.
What do public communities report?
Public reports can suggest questions to track, but they do not verify the product, dose or causality. This update did not newly quantify a community sample.
Common questions about Hyaluronic Acid
Is oral HA the same as a joint injection?
No. Route, formulation, exposure and evidence differ.
Does 120 mg/day treat wrinkles?
It was a study exposure in small product-linked trials, not an established treatment dose.
Does molecular weight matter?
It defines the preparation and may affect behavior; record it when available.
Can it treat osteoarthritis?
The cited oral trials do not establish osteoarthritis treatment.
Is sodium hyaluronate different?
It is a salt form; preserve the exact label identity and active amount.
What should I track?
Route, form, molecular weight, amount, lot, co-ingredients, chosen skin or joint measure and review date.
Glossary
Terms for reading the evidence.
- Active amount
- The declared amount of the studied ingredient, distinct from total blend mass.
- Formulation
- Source, processing, molecular size and co-ingredients that define the tested product.
- Randomized controlled trial
- A study assigning participants to intervention or comparator by chance.
- Funding sensitivity
- A result pattern that changes when studies are grouped by sponsor support.
- Endpoint
- The prespecified measurement used to judge a study result.
- Generalizability
- How well a result applies beyond the exact study product and population.
How this guide was researched
Accessible official sources and human reports were read on October 9, 2026. Titles, authors, journals, DOI, PMID and visible corrections were checked. An unreported frequency was not guessed.
How this guide was made
Research and drafting were AI-assisted. This draft awaits Doserly editorial review and independent clinical review. See the editorial policy.
Explore the sources
Sources preserve form, amount, frequency, population, duration and outcome.
Showing 5 sources
- 01
Questions and Answers on Dietary Supplements ↗
Official regulatory overview
Current page or report reviewed; scope and limits retained.
Detail: Finished-product and evidence boundaries.
- 02
Oral hyaluronan relieves wrinkles: a double-blinded, placebo-controlled study over a 12-week period. ↗
Randomized skin trial
Current page or report reviewed; scope and limits retained.
Detail: 60 adults; 120 mg/day at two molecular weights; company affiliations.
- 03
Oral Hyaluronan Relieves Wrinkles and Improves Dry Skin: A 12-Week Double-Blinded, Placebo-Controlled Study. ↗
Randomized skin trial
Current page or report reviewed; scope and limits retained.
Detail: 40 adults; 120 mg/day for 12 weeks; selected skin measures.
- 04
Oral sodium hyaluronate relieves knee discomfort: A 12‑week double‑blinded, placebo‑controlled study. ↗
Randomized knee trial
Current page or report reviewed; scope and limits retained.
Detail: 31 analyzed healthy adults; 111 mg/day for 12 weeks.
- 05
Product Licensing ↗
Canadian licensing overview
Current page or report reviewed; scope and limits retained.
Detail: Finished natural health products require licensing and authorized labels.
No matching sources
Try a different term or show the full list.