In this guide
What is bromelain?
Bromelain is a group of proteolytic enzymes from the fruit or stem of Ananas comosus. It is not one chemically uniform molecule. Labels may report milligrams and enzyme-activity units such as FCC protease units; these quantities answer different questions. [1], [4]
Oral products are promoted for sinus symptoms, dental-surgery swelling, osteoarthritis and exercise soreness. NCCIH finds too little high-quality evidence to recommend oral bromelain for sinusitis and only a possible signal for some outcomes after wisdom-tooth surgery. [1]
Typical Bromelain Protocols
| Source and context | Material | Amount | Frequency | Duration | Observed result |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brien 2006 · moderate-to-severe knee osteoarthritis | Oral bromelain adjunct | 800 mg/day | Daily total; within-day frequency not reported in the abstract | 12 weeks plus 4-week follow-up | No significant WOMAC or SF-36 benefit versus placebo 47 randomized and only 31 completed; high attrition limits precision. |
| Kasemsuk 2016 · mild-to-moderate knee osteoarthritis | Oral bromelain | 500 mg/day | Daily total; within-day frequency not reported in the abstract | 16 weeks | Within-group improvement; no difference from diclofenac at week 4 40-person, single-blind, active-controlled pilot with no placebo; observed treatment difference was inconclusive. |
| Health Canada NPN 80037347 · product label example | Stem bromelain | 500 mg providing 7,500,000 FCC protease units per capsule | One capsule daily | Product label; no trial duration | Licensed digestive-enzyme and minor pain/swelling purpose A product-specific licence record is not a class-wide trial or recommendation. |
There is no established RDA, AI or tolerable upper intake level. Equal milligram amounts can differ in proteolytic activity, and fruit and stem bromelain should not be assumed equivalent.
- Titration
- No evidence-based self-titration schedule is established.
- Timing
- The cited knee abstracts do not establish a superior time of day or relationship to meals.
- Duration
- The knee studies lasted 12 or 16 weeks. These trials do not establish indefinite use.
- Stopping
- Stop and seek review for allergy, persistent diarrhea, bleeding, severe abdominal symptoms or worsening postoperative swelling.
Three boundaries before comparison
Keep enzyme identity, clinical question and route separate.
Fruit and stem bromelain may differ in activity.
The placebo-controlled knee trial was null.
Burn debridement cannot support oral claims.
What is bromelain commonly used for?
Common uses include sinusitis, dental-surgery swelling, knee osteoarthritis, muscle soreness and digestion. Oral evidence is limited and outcome-specific. A signal for facial swelling after third-molar surgery does not establish benefit for knee arthritis, systemic inflammation or injury recovery. [1]
Which form and label details matter?
Record fruit or stem source, Ananas variety when given, milligrams per administration, proteolytic activity and unit system, number of administrations, other enzymes or ingredients and lot. Combination enzyme products cannot isolate bromelain.
What does the human evidence show?
Brien 2006 randomized 47 people with moderate-to-severe knee osteoarthritis to bromelain 800 mg/day or placebo for 12 weeks, followed by four weeks off treatment. Only 31 completed. There was no significant difference in the primary total WOMAC outcome, WOMAC subscales or SF-36. The trial did not support bromelain as an effective adjunct for this population. [2]
Kasemsuk 2016 randomized 40 people with mild-to-moderate knee osteoarthritis to bromelain 500 mg/day or diclofenac 100 mg/day. Both groups improved at week four, with no between-group WOMAC or SF-36 difference; the authors called the observed difference inconclusive. Bromelain participants continued to week 16, making later within-group change unable to distinguish treatment effect from time, expectation or regression to the mean. [3]
NCCIH reports a small oral evidence base for sinusitis and wisdom-tooth surgery. Reviews suggest possible improvement in facial swelling and later postoperative pain, but no consistent benefit for early pain or trismus. Many other studies use multi-ingredient enzyme products, which cannot isolate bromelain. [1]
How might bromelain work?
Proteolytic activity can cleave proteins in laboratory systems and is studied for effects on edema and inflammatory signaling. Enzyme activity can vary even at the same milligram mass. Mechanistic plausibility does not prove meaningful systemic absorption or clinical efficacy after oral use.
What are the risks and interactions?
Oral bromelain is generally tolerated, with stomach upset and diarrhea most commonly reported. Allergy can occur, especially with pineapple sensitivity or other allergies. Review use with blood thinners, anti-inflammatory medicines, antibiotics, gastrointestinal lesions or ulcers, and before surgery. [1], [4]
Pregnancy and breastfeeding safety are poorly known. Postoperative infection, increasing swelling, fever, uncontrolled bleeding or severe pain need direct clinical care rather than supplement adjustment. [1]
Get urgent care for trouble breathing, facial or throat swelling, uncontrolled bleeding, black or bloody stool, fainting, severe abdominal pain, high fever or rapidly spreading postoperative swelling.
Legal status in the United States and Canada
In the United States, oral bromelain may be sold as a dietary supplement. A bromelain-containing topical prescription drug is FDA-approved for burn debridement; that route and product do not approve oral uses. [1]
In Canada, Health Canada’s September 2025 monograph distinguishes fruit and stem bromelain for oral natural health products. Product licences may specify both mass and activity. [4]
What should be monitored?
Record source part, milligrams, activity units, amount per administration, frequency, procedure or symptom context, swelling, pain, function, gastrointestinal effects, bruising, bleeding, allergy and concurrent medicines.
What happens after stopping?
No withdrawal syndrome or taper is established. Pain or swelling may follow its underlying course; persistent symptoms need evaluation.
How should bromelain be stored?
Follow the label, keep the product sealed away from heat and moisture, and retain the lot and expiry date. Enzyme activity depends on product stability.
Community experience
Community reports often compare products only by milligrams and combine oral use with claims from topical burn care. They may surface digestive tolerance or allergy, but cannot establish enzyme activity, efficacy or route equivalence.
How does bromelain compare with other approaches?
Dental-surgery aftercare, sinusitis, osteoarthritis and burns require different treatments. Oral bromelain does not replace postoperative instructions, antibiotics when indicated, established osteoarthritis care or professional burn debridement.
Common questions
Are 500 mg bromelain products equivalent?
No. Source part and proteolytic activity may differ.
Did 800 mg/day help knee osteoarthritis?
No significant benefit over placebo was found at 12 weeks. [2]
Did the 500 mg/day trial prove efficacy?
No. It was a small active-controlled pilot without placebo. [3]
Does topical burn approval support oral use?
No. Route, formulation, indication and supervision are different. [1]
Is bromelain the same as eating pineapple?
No. A standardized enzyme product has a different concentration and activity.
Can it affect bleeding?
Blood thinners, anti-inflammatory drugs and surgery require professional review. [4]
Is it safe in pregnancy?
Safety is poorly known; discuss use with a prenatal clinician. [1]
Glossary
Terms used in this guide.
- Proteolytic
- Able to break down proteins.
- Enzyme activity
- A measure of catalytic function, distinct from total product mass.
- FCC protease unit
- One unit system used to express proteolytic enzyme activity.
- Debridement
- Removal of dead or damaged tissue from a wound or burn.
- Trismus
- Restricted mouth opening, sometimes measured after dental surgery.
- Titration
- Planned dose adjustment; no self-titration schedule is established here.
How this guide was researched
This draft prioritized NCCIH’s November 2024 summary, two verified knee-osteoarthritis trials and Health Canada’s September 2025 monograph. Evidence was refreshed October 9, 2026.
How this guide was made
The ledger preserves source part, mass, enzyme activity, comparator, route, exact access and null outcomes.
Research method and gaps
The official NCCIH summary and Health Canada monograph were reviewed directly. Both knee studies were checked against live PubMed metadata; their accessible abstracts report daily totals but not within-day frequency.
Gaps include product-activity equivalence, larger independent oral trials, long-term safety and clear separation of bromelain from enzyme combinations.
Sources
Search the official summary, trials and monograph.
Showing 4 sources
- 01
Bromelain: Usefulness and Safety ↗
Official clinical summary
Separates limited oral evidence from prescription topical burn debridement and summarizes tolerability.
- 02
Bromelain as an adjunctive treatment for moderate-to-severe osteoarthritis of the knee: a randomized placebo-controlled pilot study. ↗
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled pilot
800 mg/day for 12 weeks; 31 of 47 completed and primary outcomes were null.
- 03
Improved WOMAC score following 16-week treatment with bromelain for knee osteoarthritis. ↗
Randomized single-blind active-controlled pilot
500 mg/day versus diclofenac; no placebo and observed difference was inconclusive.
- 04
Fruit Bromelain/Stem Bromelain Monograph ↗
Natural health product monograph
Distinguishes fruit and stem sources for oral product licensing.
No matching sources
Try a different term or show the full list.