In this guide
What is cat's claw?
Cat’s claw is a common name for Amazonian vines, chiefly Uncaria tomentosa and U. guianensis. Bark, root, whole-plant material, powder and extracts can have different chemistry. It is also unrelated to devil’s claw and cat’s foot. [1]
Products are promoted for arthritis, immune support, infections and cancer. NCCIH concludes that human evidence is not conclusive for any health purpose. The two frequently cited arthritis studies are small and highly specific: one tested an adjunct extract in rheumatoid arthritis and one tested U. guianensis only inside a mineral combination. [1]–[3]
Typical Cat's Claw Protocols
| Source and context | Material | Amount | Frequency | Duration | Observed result |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mur 2002 · active rheumatoid arthritis | Highly purified pentacyclic-alkaloid chemotype of U. tomentosa | Not reported in the PubMed abstract | Not reported in the PubMed abstract | 24-week blinded phase, then 28-week open extract phase | Tender-joint count favored extract during the blinded phase Only 40 participants; all continued sulfasalazine or hydroxychloroquine. This was adjunct evidence. |
| Miller 2005 · mild-to-moderate knee osteoarthritis | U. guianensis extract plus Sierrasil | 100 mg/day cat’s claw plus 2 g/day Sierrasil | Daily; within-day frequency not isolated in the abstract | 8 weeks | Early symptom changes, but WOMAC advantage was not sustained at week 8 Cat’s claw was not tested alone; rescue paracetamol was allowed and 91 of 107 completed. |
| Health Canada NPN 80036610 · product label | 125 mg of 4:1 U. tomentosa extract per capsule; 500 mg dry-herb equivalent | 2 capsules per administration | Three times daily | Product label; no trial duration | Licensed immune-support purpose A product-specific licence record is not a clinical trial or class-wide recommendation. |
There is no established RDA, AI or tolerable upper intake level. Do not convert an extract amount to raw bark without its extract ratio and dry-herb equivalent.
- Titration
- No evidence-based self-titration schedule is established.
- Timing
- The accessible arthritis abstracts do not establish a superior time of day or relation to food.
- Duration
- The rheumatoid trial lasted 52 weeks in two phases; NCCIH describes short-term oral use up to six months as apparently safe, not proven long-term safety.
- Stopping
- Stop and seek review for allergy, persistent diarrhea, unusual bleeding, blood-pressure symptoms or worsening autoimmune symptoms.
Three identity checks
Keep the tested material attached to each result.
U. tomentosa and U. guianensis are distinct.
The rheumatoid pilot used a pentacyclic-alkaloid chemotype.
The osteoarthritis trial cannot isolate cat’s claw.
What is cat's claw commonly used for?
Common claims include osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, immune support, viral infection, digestive inflammation and cancer support. No conclusive human evidence establishes benefit for any of them. It must not replace disease-modifying antirheumatic treatment, cancer therapy, vaccination or infection care. [1]
Which form and label details matter?
Record species, plant part, extraction ratio, dry-herb equivalent, extract name, alkaloid or other standardization, amount per capsule, capsules per administration and lot. “Cat’s claw 500 mg” may describe a dry-herb equivalent rather than 500 mg of extract. Do not assume a pentacyclic-alkaloid extract matches uncharacterized bark powder.
What does the human evidence show?
Mur 2002 enrolled 40 people with active rheumatoid arthritis who remained on sulfasalazine or hydroxychloroquine. During the 24-week blinded phase, tender-joint count fell 53.2% with the purified U. tomentosa extract and 24.1% with placebo (p=0.044). The second 28-week phase gave extract to everyone. The small sample, adjunct design and specialized chemotype make this preliminary evidence, not support for replacing treatment. The accessible abstract does not report amount or within-day frequency. [2]
Miller 2005 randomized 107 people with knee osteoarthritis; 91 completed. The relevant arm received 100 mg/day U. guianensis extract plus 2 g/day Sierrasil for eight weeks. Cat’s claw was never tested alone. All arms improved, and the combination’s WOMAC advantage over placebo was not statistically sustained at eight weeks. Rescue paracetamol could also affect symptom measures. [3]
These trials concern two species, different products and different diseases. Neither proves cancer treatment, antiviral activity, broad immune enhancement or a general anti-inflammatory effect in people. NCCIH therefore retains a no-conclusive-evidence conclusion. [1]
How might cat's claw work?
Oxindole alkaloids, proanthocyanidins and quinovic-acid glycosides are studied in laboratory and animal models for immune and inflammatory signaling. Chemotype and extraction can change the mixture. Mechanistic findings do not establish clinical benefit and create a reason for autoimmune caution rather than a promise of useful “immune boosting.”
What are the risks and interactions?
Short-term oral use up to six months appears tolerated, but reliable long-term information is lacking. Cat’s claw may activate immune responses, slow clotting or affect blood pressure. Review use with autoimmune disease, transplant history, immunosuppressants, anticoagulants, antiplatelet drugs, blood-pressure medicines or planned surgery. [1]
Some pregnancy evidence suggests harm, and breastfeeding safety is poorly known. The Canadian product record contraindicates pregnancy, breastfeeding and organ or tissue transplant and advises review with prescription medicines and immune disorders. Persistent diarrhea is a reason to stop. [1], [4]
Get urgent care for trouble breathing, facial or throat swelling, black or bloody stool, severe dizziness or fainting, uncontrolled bleeding, or a severe autoimmune flare.
Legal status in the United States and Canada
In the United States, products may be sold as dietary supplements and are not FDA-approved treatments for arthritis, infection or cancer. [1]
In Canada, NPN 80036610 is an active product-specific record for a 4:1 U. tomentosa extract. Its licensed conditions do not establish class-wide efficacy or equivalence. [4]
What should be monitored?
Record species, plant part, extract ratio, dry-herb equivalent, amount per administration, frequency, background arthritis medicines, pain and swollen-joint measures, blood-pressure symptoms, bruising, diarrhea and autoimmune changes. Do not use symptom logs to justify stopping disease-modifying treatment.
What happens after stopping?
No withdrawal syndrome or taper is established. Underlying arthritis symptoms may fluctuate. Medication changes require the prescribing clinician.
How should cat's claw be stored?
Follow the product label, keep it sealed away from heat and moisture, and retain the lot and expiry date.
Community experience
Community reports often discuss joint comfort, digestive effects and “immune support.” They rarely verify species, chemotype, plant part or concurrent therapy. Such reports can identify tolerability questions but cannot establish efficacy or product equivalence.
How does cat's claw compare with other approaches?
Rheumatoid arthritis needs disease-modifying treatment; osteoarthritis care may include exercise, weight management when relevant and established pain options. Cat’s claw does not substitute for diagnosis, infection treatment, cancer therapy or transplant immunosuppression.
Common questions
Are U. tomentosa and U. guianensis equivalent?
No. Keep species and extract attached to the source. [1]–[3]
Did the rheumatoid trial test cat's claw alone?
No. Participants continued sulfasalazine or hydroxychloroquine. [2]
Did the osteoarthritis trial isolate cat's claw?
No. The relevant arm combined it with Sierrasil. [3]
Does it boost immunity safely?
Broad benefit is unproven, and immune activation may worsen autoimmune disease. [1]
Is it safe during pregnancy?
It should be avoided because some evidence suggests harm. [1], [4]
What does a 4:1 extract mean?
It describes a concentration relationship to starting plant material; it does not prove trial equivalence.
Can it replace arthritis medication?
No. The limited trials do not support substitution.
Glossary
Terms used in this guide.
- Chemotype
- A chemically distinct form within a plant species.
- Oxindole alkaloid
- A class of compounds used to characterize some cat’s-claw extracts.
- Adjunct
- An addition to background treatment rather than a replacement.
- Dry-herb equivalent
- The amount of dry starting plant represented by an extract.
- WOMAC
- A questionnaire measuring osteoarthritis pain, stiffness and physical function.
- Titration
- Planned dose adjustment; no self-titration schedule is established here.
How this guide was researched
This draft prioritized NCCIH’s November 2024 summary, the Mur rheumatoid-arthritis abstract, the full Miller combination trial and a Canadian product licence record. Evidence was refreshed October 9, 2026.
How this guide was made
The ledger preserves species, extract, co-treatment, source access and exact limits on reported schedules.
Research method and gaps
NCCIH, the Miller full text and the Canadian product record were reviewed directly. Mur 2002 was available through its PubMed abstract, so amount and within-day frequency remain unreported.
Gaps include independent replication, long-term safety, extract equivalence and trials that isolate cat’s claw from combinations.
Sources
Search the official summary, trials and regulatory record.
Showing 4 sources
- 01
Cat's Claw: Usefulness and Safety ↗
Official clinical summary
No conclusive human evidence for any purpose; includes autoimmune, bleeding and pregnancy cautions.
- 02
Randomized double blind trial of an extract from the pentacyclic alkaloid-chemotype of uncaria tomentosa for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis. ↗
Randomized preliminary adjunct trial
Forty participants; amount and within-day frequency absent from the PubMed abstract.
- 03
Early relief of osteoarthritis symptoms with a natural mineral supplement and a herbomineral combination: a randomized controlled trial [ISRCTN38432711]. ↗
Randomized combination trial
U. guianensis 100 mg/day was combined with Sierrasil 2 g/day and never tested alone.
- 04
Licensed Natural Health Product Record: Cat's Claw 500 mg Capsules ↗
Product-specific licence record
Active 4:1 extract record with immune, pregnancy, transplant and interaction conditions.
No matching sources
Try a different term or show the full list.